what motivates you?

29 Apr

So, as I climbed on the scale this morning and watched the numbers bouncing around, building up the unneeded suspense on just how well I am doing so far, I held my breath and waited for some good (or maybe not so good) news.  When the numbers finally settled down and blinked (to indicate that the scale had made up its mind)…I was pleasantly surprised and did my little victory shuffle.

Down 2 lbs from the last time I weighed!  I’ll take that for sure!  Nothing is more motivating than seeing progress…be it in a pair of too tight jeans or the actual numbers on the scale.  These little victories all add up!   When I am feeling tired and it sounds a lot better to continue sitting on the couch than getting up and going for a walk…it’s these rare moments of victory that light a fire and get me going!

I realize on this journey, I won’t always have losses (at least on the scale) and probably need another way to stay motivated, so I decided to start a list of rewards that I can look forward to when I reach little milestones.  Of course, this will also require me to set some short-term goals in the process.

So over the next few days, I will be thinking of little milestones and the fun goodies that I will reward myself with along the way!  YAY…I love presents!

In the meantime…any suggestions?  What motivates you?

2 Responses to “what motivates you?”

  1. Marlayna April 30, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    First, I want to congratulate you for making a decision to live a healthier lifestyle. Change can be both very difficult and scary. The day you decided to embrace change, and take steps towards improving your health, you automatically put yourself on a path for success. Now, your challenge is to stay on it.

    I love what you said about rewarding yourself for reaching small milestones. After all, it is what you are doing TODAY that will ensure a healthier tomorrow. Remember, “the past is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why they call it the present.”

    Always reward yourself each day (like doing your victory shuffle) for your accomplishments. Each victory is equally important, whether it be a 0.1 pound weight loss or 2 pounds (which is GREAT by the way), because it all means the same thing. Success!

    To answer your question- my motivation is seeing my beautiful daughter’s smile. I want to be the best role model I can be, that means showing her (first-hand) how to live a healthy lifestyle.

  2. Cerise May 3, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Congratulations!
    How awesome to see the loss on the scale. After living 52 years I’ve learned that every single goal we set will have the ever popular roller coaster syndrome attack it. We will be so motivated in the beginning, but a little hormonal imbalance, a little weight gain, a little emotional turbulence and we crater. So the best way for me to stay motivated is to start over EVERY single day. I wake up in a new world. I don’t let the failures (any failures) from my past color my tomorrow. God promises His mercy is new every morning so I give myself grace and act like it’s a new day. The starting line is right in front of me and I’m headed for the 100 yard dash in the longest marathon called, “Life”.

    Success. It’s a new day so just start over! Your two pounds closer to healthy!

Leave a Reply

