meat man wants portobello burger for dinner

13 May

I can’t believe my ears.  I just got off the phone with Mr. Meat & Potatoes and he excitedly told me that he’d like to make portobello burgers for dinner!  I had to really stop myself from laughing out loud!

This is Mr. “I’ll take a Ribeye with a side of Ribeye” not Mr. “A complete meal consists of a vegetable”…

And now he wants a fully vegetarian meal for dinner?  You betcha!  I just hope he doesn’t change his mind between now and the time he gets off work!

Hooray!  Could it be that he is slowly reforming?  OR could it be that this is his culinary substitution for roses…in which case, I wonder what he did wrong today?!  LOL!

I am totally stoked!  I just went on to FoodNetwork.com to see what I could quickly find  as a recipe for Portobello Burgers.  So many to choose from!

Here’s what I decided to try tonight:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ll let you know how it goes.  In the meantime, anybody out there have another cherished portobello burger recipe that you’d recommend?  If you don’t respond before dinner time…no worries…I can always try it out during the next blue moon!  😉

Yummy Healthy Dinner…Here we come!!!

3 Responses to “meat man wants portobello burger for dinner”

  1. Ali @ Fat to Fit June 9, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    Just found your blog, and really enjoy it! I can total relate to your struggles with weight and exercise! Can’t wait to keep reading!

    If you get a chance, check out my blog – http://www.fatbutchanging.blogspot.com

    • oddsagainstme August 16, 2010 at 12:38 am #

      Hi Ali! So sorry for the delay in responding to you. I blindly believed that my spam filter only caught spam and randomly decided to check it today! Guess what…your comment was in there….clearly NOT spam! My apologies! I just read your latest post re: the ice cream maker….giggle giggle… I do like your fuzzy logic and can’t wait to read about how your experiments go! I was just talking about frozen yogurt with Emily, my dietitian, and she gave me the hard news that the frozen yogurt at Braum’s (local ice cream shop) is probably not to be considered in that “healthy choice” category! Not that it’s off limits, but it has a little too much sugar to be a weekly treat! So your post was RIGHT ON TIME! It’s averaging to be about 105 degrees everyday in my neck of the woods and nothing sounds better than a nice cold frozen yogurt…so YOU MUST tell me how your experiments go! I’d love nothing more than a good healthy fro-yo recipe!

      I look forward to reading more about your journey on your blog! I see we have quite a bit in common! Happy Sunday!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. verdict: burger o’ portobello « Odds Against Me - May 15, 2010

    […] and take a pic to share with you guys.  But until then, check out that recipe again on my previous post!  I love Big Daddy’s House on Food Network!  Mad props to Aaron McCargo, Jr. on this […]

Leave a Reply

