my quest to find a new relationship

27 May

So, as I mentioned before, the plan was to start working with a dietitian.  Now, it is official…I have started a program that will teach me how my body uses food as well as gives me a solid understanding of how to make healthier choices.  As you know, my mission is to lose weight, but this time I’m looking for a real lifestyle change with long-term implications.

I’ve failed many times before with gimmicks, pills, and offers like “read this book and lose weight”, “buy this expensive equipment and watch the pounds melt away”, and of course I’ve tried more traditional methods like Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers and found some short-term success with their special meals and meetings.  I learned a lot from each one of these attempts at weight loss.  1) There are no magic pills, potions or lotions    2) An exercise machine is only good if you USE it    3) The books (and corresponding cookbooks) look great on my bookshelf, but do very little for my “back shelf”–aka my behind    4) I find pre-made foods limiting    5) I don’t love the idea of carrying around a sliding scale at the grocery store just to figure out how many Points there are in a serving of Honey Bunches of Oats

There are so many people who swear by these methods and I am ecstatic for those who have used them and found long-term success, but I am tired of “dieting”.  I just want to be “normal” and not have to think about food all the time.  I want to eat NORMAL foods that I can get from a grocery store.  I don’t want to rush to a weekly meeting to stand in line and weigh in.  I want to learn how to have a simple, normal, HEALTHY relationship with food.

Don’t get me wrong…I know all relationships take some work.  And just like the start of any great relationship, I am ready to dedicate some serious time getting to know my body… learning about its little quirks, discovering what it likes and dislikes and uncovering what really turns it on.  I am ready to work hard at this.  I totally expect good days and bad days, highs and lows, days to celebrate and moments where I will just need a timeout and a little “space”.  I am ready to put 100% into this and in return I want to get to a point where I am not consumed by it.  Where making healthy choices is second nature, not something that I can only do by picking up a sliding scale or warming up a pre-packaged meal…a simple, “it looks too good to be true” kind of love.

Losing weight is hard  (gaining it…not so much) and I’ve watched myself fail too many times.  I’ve mastered the art of STARTING diets, but reaching my goals…well that’s unchartered territory.  I’ve had ENOUGH!!  I need a team that will keep me motivated, be supportive and give me the tools to do this for the long haul.

The Fisherman by Håkon Iversen

“Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.”   – Chinese Proverb

I don’t want to be dependent on any special meals, pills, food calculations, etc…  I want to learn how to read labels and figure out what it all means, appreciate food for what it is–a source of energy, understand what I am putting into my body and learn to really maximize the benefits of each meal that I eat.  I also want to understand why my body does what it does….  Why when I only eat 2 meals a day, I still gain weight?  Why am I never thirsty?  Why am I always so tired?  How many calories should I be getting?  How can I get my body to work with me based on MY current situation?  The list goes on and on…

So, today marks the beginning of the second week of working with Emily, my dietitian, who you will hear more about throughout this journey.  Over the last month, I have provided Emily with some assessments that gave her a look into the secret window of my life.  What, when, how much I eat……What I like, dislike, love and can’t live without…what motivates me, bums me out, and really sets me off….What I’m at risk for, my family history, my physical limitations….you get the point…

She’s taken the time to understand where I’m coming from and is designing a plan just for ME and now she joins me on my journey and I couldn’t be more thrilled!  In the last week, she’s already explained a lot about my body, the metabolism and even gave me a few homework assignments.

This post is already crazy long, so I will save the details for my next post.  I am super excited and want to share some of the information that I’ve already learned and share my progress so far after working with Emily over the last week!

In the meantime, I thought I’d try to make this a little more interactive and hopefully hear back from my 4 blog buddies (yes, I now have FOUR AWESOME subscribers to my blog…I AM SO EXCITED!).

What kind of relationship do you have with your body?  What would it say about you?

Reply in the comment section…I really want to get to know you guys!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer (aka Legal Mumbo Jumbo):  All the trademarks or brands referenced in this post are registered by their respective owners.  The content above is not associated with or sponsored by the trademark owners.


3 Responses to “my quest to find a new relationship”

  1. Mad Woman May 29, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I have a bad relationship with body. I think it’s time we broke up and started seeing other bodies…there’s a hot little body I think I’d look marvelous in, but unfortunately the feelings aren’t mutual in any direction. So I’m stuck where I am.

    I do Weight Watchers because at this point in my life, I am 99% sure that I could not do this on my own. So I stand in line and weigh in, I count points and I carry on. But when I master this a little better, I’d like to do much what you are doing…and find myself a dietician. My relationship with food is worse than the one with my body. My body thinks I’m rather hard on it, and screams at me when I try to do certain things, but after years of shutting it up with yummies, it’s starting to keep quiet.

    Good for you for finding a system that works for you…it’s a HUGE step on this path. I’m impressed!

  2. skinnygene June 2, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Excellent Post!!! I love the fact that you are engaging in a healthy relationship with your body. You are truly an inspiration.

    Regarding your question…I, like most other people, have had a tumultuous relationship with my body. When I was younger we seemed to get along just fine. In college we started to have a few communication problems. I wanted to eat junk food and look like I did when I was 15, “it” didn’t see things my way. The final straw was when I got pregnant. It was like my body hated me or something…nauseous every 5 seconds, craving bad bad foods, and so on. It demanded that I give it what it wanted (or so I thought), but when it came to understanding what I wanted (getting rid of the baby weight) it wasn’t so willing to participate in the conversation anymore. I knew a good deal about nutrition, so what was the deal. I was eating the foods (I thought). I was walking 4 miles (uphill) a day. Why was my body, my life partner, refusing to communicate with me? Finally, I figured it out. I stopped talking and I started listening to my body- with the help of our registered dietitian (RD) of course! Turns out one of the many things that stood in my way of being who I was at that moment, and who I wanted to be, was adding more EFAs (essential fatty acids) into my diet. Crazy!

    So….at the end of the day, this is what I learned 1) Loving your body is not enough. You have to trust in YOU, the whole you (mind and body). 2) Sometimes, it takes another set of eyes to see a clear solution- sometimes we get so wrapped up in our fears (of failing) we can’t see the path towards healthy living is easier and shorter than we thought. 3) Ask an expert (an RD)- When you’re working hard to to lose weight, you don’t need conflicting opinions, you need facts. With so much incorrect information floating around, you have to consider the source. 4) With the right support and information- anything is possible.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my quest to find a new relationship (via Odds Against Me) « Skinny Gene Project - June 14, 2010

    […]  Enjoy this blog!  So, as I mentioned before, the plan was to start working with a dietitian.  Now, it is official…I have started a program that will teach me how my body uses food as well as gives me a solid understanding of how to make healthier choices.  As you know, my mission is to lose weight, but this time I’m looking for a real lifestyle change with long-term implications. I’ve failed many times before with gimmicks, pills, and offers like “read this book … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

