when giving 10% is a good thing

15 Sep

10%…it’s a number that doesn’t sound like much, right?  If I were to give 10% at work, the results wouldn’t be too great!  If we were business partners and I offered you 10% of the profits…you’d be a little underwhelmed.

But there are times when 10% actually amounts to quite a bit….for example…picking between meat that is 80% lean and 90% lean…sign me up!  Eating 10% less calories or moving 10% longer than you did the day before…that’s something to be proud of.  These small percentages add up quickly…and that’s when 10% is a really good thing!

It’s also a really good thing when I sit back and realize that during this journey, I have managed to shed 10% of myself!  That 10% is equivalent to a small child.  That 10% represents months of trying to eat better, move more, and gain a better understanding of what food used to mean and what food SHOULD mean to me.  That 10% didn’t come off easy, and it didn’t come off quickly.  When you’re talking about weight, 10% is quite a challenge and makes you realize it’s not such a small percentage after all!

But here’s what I find to be most interesting….while I still have a long way to go on my journey, I’ve already come so far.  That 10% has really made a difference in me.  My clothes fit differently.  I am slowly getting a new wardrobe without spending any money because I can now fit into clothes that have sat in my closet untouched for years.  I feel a little lighter on my feet.  I sleep a little better with fewer aches and pains.  I even think that “little” 10% has given me just a bit more confidence.    But that’s not all… Did you know that by losing 10% of your body weight, you drastically improve your health?  A quick online search will reveal some of the health benefits that come along with that undervalued little percentage….  Here’s what I found:

By losing 10% of your weight, you can:

  • Reverse or prevent diabetes by improving glucose tolerance
  • Improve sleep apnea
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Lower cholesterol by reducing LDL–the bad cholesterol
  • Improve triglyceride levels
  • Lower risk of cardiovascular disease and sudden death from heart disease or stroke
  • Prevent chest pain caused by decreased oxygen to the heart
  • Improve self-esteem
  • Reduce aches and pains
  • Increase energy levels
  • And in some cases, eliminate certain medications–yes, 10% may be more effective than the nasty meds we have to take due to this weight!  That’s amazing!

Wow…it’s no wonder I can already feel a difference!  But as I mentioned, I’m only at the beginning of my journey.   I have a long way to go, but I thought that this milestone was worth sharing!

By having now lost 10% of my original body weight, I have a better sense of where I am going, how long and how hard it is to get there…AND the much-needed motivation to push through.  If I feel better  minus 10%, I can only imagine what minus 20% feels like!

I’m going to do my best to not focus on how far I have to go and instead take the momentum I’ve gained by how far I’ve come and see if I can do it again.  I am keeping my eye on my next 10%.  Afterall, it’s a tiny number, right?  😉

It’s no longer uncharted territory…I just conquered the first beast…using the same tactics, I can do it again.

This time, I’d love company….who wants to join me and shed 10% together?  It’s no race, no crazy competition…just good ol’ fashioned  motivation and sharing of obstacles, struggles and successes.  My theory is that everything is better with a buddy!  So let me know if you’re in!!

Leave a Reply

